//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My FIRST Visit to the Registered Dietician/Nutrionist! :)

Hi all!! Happy Thursday!!

I just left the office of Tracy Owens, registered dietician (RD) and nutrionist at Triangle Nutrition Therapy.  I have been really wanting to visit an RD to ensure that I am eating a balanced diet, getting all my nutrients, and to see where I stand in terms of the calories I’m burning and the calories I’m taking in.

Prior to visiting Tracy I kept a food journal for a couple of days, trying to include times that I was eating, calories, etc.  I wrote down questions for her, as well as what I hoped to gain from our session.  What I hoped to find out was a good calorie range for me to concentrate on to lose weight and eventually maintain, and I wanted to see if I could be building better meals or choosing better foods.

The first thing we did was test my resting metabolic rate (RMR), the number of calories I am burning at rest.  This can be calculated using a series of formulas, but in order to get the most accurate reading we used a metabolic rate analyzer called a Body Gem.

Body Gem - RMR Analyzer

The test takes about 10 minutes and requires you to breath into the machine while your nose is clipped.  My reading showed that I am burning about 1500 calories at rest, which I was very happy to see.

While I did the RMR test, Tracy reviewed my food journal and tried to get a good idea of what a typical day eating looked like for me.  I was glad that I put the time stamps on my meals/snacks because that was really the main issue for me.  I was eating breakfast, a bunch of snacks , and then a late dinner.  Because of my schedule it is hard to eat an actual lunch—I teach everyday during lunch and usually I head straight to the gym after class.  I definitely need to work on getting a meal in before or after my classes.

Oh yeah, and I eat a lot of sweets 🙂 I have known for many moons that I need to work on my intake of sweets in the evening, but Tracy pointed out that I could probably help solve this by not going so long without a true meal and a little willpower.

I really enjoyed this experience and I would highly recommend visiting a registered dietician, especially if you are eligible to visit for $25 under Blue Cross Blue Shield NC (and I think most NC State Employees are BCBS).  Tracy is great and her office is off of Falls of the Neuse Road at the Spring Forest intersection.  Her website is: http://www.trianglediet.com/

She was very helpful in letting me know the best way to find an RD through BCBS (for those of you who do not live in the area) is on their website: http://www.bcbsnc.com/apps/providers/search.do?searchType=Doctor.  Based on your plan, you would select “Nutrition” under the “Specialty” category when conducting your search.

Have a great week!!!

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

4 thoughts on “My FIRST Visit to the Registered Dietician/Nutrionist! :)

  1. Thanks for this information. That would be very helpful to know what your BMR really is to help with weight loss. I may have to check her out.

    I hope you’re training is going well. I’m in week 13 of my recovery from knee surgery. I’m working on the steps now! Whew, it’s still tough but I’m determined to get it back in my program.

    Chandrea

    Posted by Chandrea | July 22, 2010, 1:57 pm
    • Hi Chandrea!!

      Good to hear from you!

      I’m glad to hear you are working hard with your recovery. How long do they expect you to take to get back to “normal”?

      I really enjoyed my experience today with the RD and would highly recommend her!! Please take care and hope to see you soon!

      Posted by jlp0328 | July 22, 2010, 2:41 pm
  2. Jamie,

    I have enjoyed reading your blog! Are looking for a career path in nutrition? I see that nutrition and physical fitness is a big part of your life. Seems like to me this would be a great field and a rewarding career.

    Good luck with training and keep posting!

    Take care,

    Stephen

    Posted by Stephen Latham | July 26, 2010, 6:00 pm
    • Hi Stephen!

      Hope things are going well for you!!

      I really appreciate your feedback–it means a lot!

      I actually teach wellness classes to NC State Employees–it is a dream job! I absolutely love it 🙂 I’m hoping to eventually go back to school and become a registered dietician.

      Take care and thank you for reading!

      Jamie

      Posted by jlp0328 | July 26, 2010, 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

