//
you're reading...
Recipes

Cake Mix + Applesauce = AWESOME!!

Hi all!

I have had a busy weekend working, working out, baking, chopping, and unfortunately eating WAY too much!

Friday I received an email from Hungry Girl about changing up boxed cake mix and substituting a variety of different elements in place of the oil and eggs (http://www.hungry-girl.com/girls/biteoutdetails.php?isid=2126).  So far I have only had an opportunity to experiment once–yellow cake mix and applesauce!  I honestly think this combination is better than actually using the eggs and oil.  The cake was incredibly moist and tasty.

In order to create the cake/cupcakes using applesauce, combine 1 cup water + 1 cup applesauce + cake mix.  Follow the baking directions given on the box.

I’m hoping to do devil’s food cake and greek yogurt tomorrow.

Yellow Cake Mix + Applesauce = YUM!

In addition to baking these delicious treats, I also had to make a fruit tray for my mom’s birthday party.

I wanted to make a dip as well and found a REALLY easy recipe that is super easy and very low in calories.  All you need is a light cool whip and fat free yogurt!  My mom requested blueberry, but I think it would be really good if you used some of the creative flavors that are available.  I am also considering using this as an icing for the cupcakes.

Hopefully I will be doing the other cake/cupcakes tomorrow and will have pictures and a review for that later in the week!

Jamie

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

