//
you're reading...
Product Reviews

Portion Control and Product Reviews (a lot of Trader Joe’s stuff!)

Hi all!!

Hope everyone is having a great weekend so far! I got up early this morning to hit the gym for a treadmill/weights class and then swam for about 25 minutes in preparation for my upcoming triathlon (Aug. 15).  I was trying to work on my flip turns because I think that improving that skill is going to help me with my swim time.  I was doing horribly, but luckily an experienced and knowledgeable swimmer was in there to offer me some help!

I have also been roasting vegetables like crazy! At the farmer’s market this past week I purchased squash and zucchini and roasted it along with some asparagus I bought from BJ’s.  So good! I literally ate about 75% of the vegetables on my own!

Roasted Squash, Zucchini, and Asparagus!

For my post this week, I thought it would be helpful to outline some products that I have been using and give you my 2 cents about them.  When trying to eat healthy it can be very difficult sometimes because you may be apprehensive to try certain products for fear of wasting money because you may not like it.  Many of these are from Trader Joe’s that I tried based on YOUR recommendations, so please keep them coming!

Product Reviews

1.  Trader Joe’s Fat Free (0%) Greek Yogurt – Plain

  • Price: $2.99 for a 16 oz container– it can be purchased in individual portions as well.  The 16 oz container lasts me about a week.
  • Nutrition Label:
    • Serving Size: 1 cup
    • Calories: 120
    • Total Fat: 0g
    • Sodium: 70 mg
    • Sugars: 6g
    • Proteins: 22g
    • 20% of daily Calcium
  • Why I love it: I have tried many different greek yogurts out there, and I have to say that I think that I like this one the best.  I don’t know if it’s the price that has somehow effected my love of it (typically I pay about $3.89 or more for a container of the same size), but I love the texture and would highly recommend this product!!  I buy the plain and add fresh fruit (usually blueberries) with a packet of stevia to sweeten it up a bit.  You’ll notice that the flavored yogurts usually have a lot of added sugar.

Trader Joe's Fat Free Greek Yogurt

    2.  Trader Joe’s Organic Brown Rice from the freezer section

    • Price: $3.49 for 3 microwaveable bags.  Each bag contains about 2 cups of rice.
    • Nutrition Label:
      • Serving Size: 1 cup
      • Calories: 160
      • Total Fat: 1g
      • Saturated Fat: 0g
      • Sodium: 0g
      • Dietary Fiber: 2.5g
      • Protein: 4g
    • Why I love it:  If you have ever cooked brown rice you know that sometimes this process can take about 45 minutes.  Luckily there are “minute” rice versions out there, but this is by far the easiest way to have brown rice in minimal time with minimal effort.  I thought it tasted just as good as rice I would have typically made on the stove.  The only downside is the cost.  It is much more expensive than buying the boxed rice and making it on the stove, but in some instances I think the convenience factor makes it worth spending a little extra money.

    Trader Joe's Organic Brown Rice - Frozen

    3.  Trader Joe’s Chile Lime Chicken Burgers in the freezer section

    • Price: $3.49 for 4 frozen burgers
    • Nutrition Label:
      • Serving Size: 1 burger/ 4 oz
      • Calories: 150
      • Total Fat: 6g
      • Saturated Fat: 2g
      • Sodium: 310mg
      • Dietary Fiber: 2g
      • Protein: 19g
    • Why I love it: I happened upon these at the sample counter at Trader Joe’s one afternoon.  They paired them with their whole wheat hamburger buns and corn salsa which caused me to fall in love with them immediately.  When I make these at home I add a little guacamole and mustard and they are great. They take about 10 minutes total to prepare – 5 minutes on each side on the grill – and can go on frozen minimizing prep time.  I think they’re wonderful–fairly inexpensive, delish, and ready in 1o minutes.

    Trader Joe's Chile Lime Chicken Burgers

    4.  Yoplait Smoothies (Strawberry Banana flavor) from the frozen food section

    • Price: For 1 package (makes two 8oz smoothies) about $2.50 at WalMart.  However, you can buy these in bulk at BJ’s for $9.99 for 5 packages (makes ten 8oz smoothies) AND there is usually a coupon out there for $1-$1.25 off–check out this link for coupons: www.printablecoupondatabase.com
    • Nutrition Label: Double everything if you’re using the entire packet at once with skim milk.  I’m listing all of the nutritional information for the prepared smoothie (prepared means 1/2 cup of skim milk)
      • Serving Size: 1/2 pouch for 8oz smoothie
      • Calories: 110
      • Total Fat: 1g
      • Saturated Fat: .5g
      • Dietary Fiber: 1g
      • Sugars: 9g
      • Protein: 1g
    • Why I like it: I don’t know if “like” is a strong enough word to express how I feel about these smoothies.  I’m kind of obsessed.  My mom told me about them and also filled me in on buying them in bulk at BJ’s which helps to keep the cost down especially when using a coupon.  I have been using these as my nightly dessert, topped with a little bit of light cool whip.  These smoothies are very thick and creamy like a milkshake (thanks to the frozen yogurt pieces) and all you need is a skim milk and a blender.  The flavor I’ve highlighted is Strawberry Banana, but you can also get these in Triple Berry & Strawberry Mango Pineapple.

    Yoplait Smoothies

    Portion Control Links

    We discussed Portion Control this past week in class and here are many of the links that I emailed out to participants.  Enjoy!

    About Jamie

    A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

    Discussion

    4 thoughts on “Portion Control and Product Reviews (a lot of Trader Joe’s stuff!)

    1. Hi Jaime,

      How spicy were the TJs Chile burgers?

      I’ve seen them in the store, but have been afraid to try them…I’m sensitive to spicy food.

      Thanks,
      Robin
      Friday Class

      Posted by Robin | June 22, 2010, 3:39 pm
    2. I did the Prevention quiz, and while I got most of the first questions correct, I only got 1 of the 4 bonus questions right — the ones where they show a typical serving and you have to guess how much is in it — clearly I need more help with this. Do you have other sites or suggestions?

      Thanks!
      Robin

      Posted by Robin | June 22, 2010, 3:40 pm
      • I re-did the quiz and the bonus questions and I missed two of them myself. I think the fact that it wasn’t in front of my face threw me off. For example, if I saw the steak in front of me I think I would have been able to guess that it was 4 servings. I think really the best thing to do to work on this is measure everything you can whether its with measuring cups, a food scale, or using these tips (tennis ball, deck of cards, etc.) to help you estimate. Hope that helps! If I find any other sites I will send them out 🙂

        See you on Friday!!

        Posted by jlp0328 | June 22, 2010, 10:10 pm

    Leave a Reply

        Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 470 other followers

    Jamie on Twitter!

