//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Victorious!!!…and Reading Food Labels!

About 10 years ago when I was lazily making it around the track in gym class, did I think I’d be successful in a competition involving running? Definitely not!!

7am Pre-Race Pose

Today was my first official 5K where I tried to do well–Senior year in high school, some of us did a 5K, but we “power walked” and we didn’t really try our best.  I am happy to announce that…

Right now it is about 10:15pm and I am exhausted.  That was one of the most difficult things that I have physically done, but I cannot tell you how proud I am.  I can’t wait to do another race and improve from this point.

FINISH LINE!

My hope is that in the fall I can encourage participants from my class to come out and just complete the race, even if they walk every step.  I think finishing a race, no matter the distance, is a great accomplishment for anyone.  For those of you who are in my ESMMWL classes, past and present, how would you feel about doing a 5K together?? I would love to hear how you all feel about doing something like this.

In class this week we discussed food labels and the role that they play in weight management.  We talked about all of the elements that come into play when trying to make decisions about certain products: calories, fat, sodium, sugar, ingredients, cost, taste, whole grains, etc.  The links below should be helpful in learning more about food labels.

Hope to post a stuffed peppers recipe for you tomorrow!! Have a great night!!

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

