//
you're reading...
Recipes

Black Bean Brownies…a bit disappointing :(

Hello all!!

I hope everyone is having a great Memorial Day weekend! I am battling a headache right now and probably going to bed very early this evening.

Yesterday I spent a good portion of the day working on these brownies and this time I followed the directions exactly.  My brother even let me use his food processor so the beans were perfectly smashed/grated/etc.

Recipe

When I was finished with the batter I was so pumped up because I thought I made something wonderful, but the finished product fell significantly short of my expectations.  I was really hoping to find a great substitute for sweets, but no such luck!!

Processing the black beans

Batter

I was hopeful when they came out of the oven...

Black Bean Brownies

My boyfriend ate them, but I didn’t think they were tasty at all.

I actually follow Rocco DiSpirito on Twitter and someone tweeted him their photo of the brownies, which basically look like mine.  I am guessing they probably tasted pretty similarly – http://tweetphoto.com/24725735

One product that I would like to share with you is Contessa On the Stove frozen meals.  They are absolutely delicious and very low in calories.  You can find them in the freezer section at your grocery store.  The best choice is the Chicken Stir Fry (http://www.contessa.com/products/conveniencemeals/chicken-stir-fry/) that has about 170 calories per serving.  This pairs great with brown rice or quinoa.

The other great thing is that it only takes 8 minutes to prepare!! You don’t have to defrost or anything, you just throw it on the skillet and add in the sauce that is packaged separately.  It is such a great easy to go-to meal, so I usually stock up quite a bit when they’re on sale.

The only downside to these meals are their price when they’re not on sale.  At Food Lion they’re about 5.99 normally, but when they go on sale they’re usually buy 1, get 1 free or $3.99 each.  I have been getting a ton of $1 of coupons for these in the bags and in the newspaper.  Here is one you can print from their website: http://www.contessa.com/promotions/coupons/

Contessa Frozen Meals

Hoping to share some new recipes with you this week!!

Take care– Jamie

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

