//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Baking on a Saturday Night!

Hi all!!

I am off from waiting tables tonight and the BF is hanging with his friends, so I am spending the evening baking!!  I am making sweet potato muffins and banana choc. chip muffins for my classes this week.  I have both recipes posted in past blogs if interested.

Homemade Muffins

I have been slack on updating the blog due to various other projects like cleaning, so I am catching up on this rainy evening that has ended with another rainbow 🙂

Rainbow 🙂

This past week for dinner I made some things I had previous prepared like the turkey enchiladas and turkey lasagna.  They are so easy and delicious!

Cheesy Turkey Enchiladas

Great wrap--low calorie and whole wheat!

My new meal this week was a crab cake recipe that I got from Rocco Dispirito’s book Now Eat This.  It turned out pretty well, but I think I kind of messed up some of the amounts in the ingredients.  I did not do the red pepper or eat these with arugula because I don’t like it.

Crabcake Recipe

Ingredients

Crab Cakes with Red Pepper Dressing by Rocco Dispirito

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 9 oz fresh crabmeat or high quality canned crabmeat
  • grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp reduced-fat mayo
  • 3 tbsp chopped fresh chives
  • 1/4 cup whole breadcrumbs (I used Fiber 1 cereal)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • one 4-oz jar pimento with liquid
  • 4 oz baby arugula
  1. Preheat the broiler on low.  Spray a foil-lined baking sheet with cooking spray and set it aside.
  2. Place the peas in a small microwave-safe bowl and cover it with plastic wrap.  Microwave on high until tender, and 1 minute.  Let cool slightly.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the crabmeat, lemon zest and juice, 1/2 cup mayo, chives, peas, and panko. Season the crab mixture with salt and pepper to taste, and mix thoroughly.  Using your hands, form the mixture into 4 cakes.
  4. Place the crab cakes on the prepared baking sheet.  Broil the crab cakes until they are deep golden brown and hot throughout, about 6 minutes. *** I stopped here***
  5. Meanwhile, combine the pimento, their liquid, and the remaining mayo in a blender.  Puree until smooth.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  6. In a medium bowl, toss the arugula with half of the pimento dressing.  Season the salad with salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Serve the crab cakes with remaining pimento sauce and the arugula salad.

The recipe calls for either mayo or “Rocco’s Magnificent Mayonnaise” which is a combo of greek yogurt and some other stuff.  I didn’t want to do 1/2 cup of mayo so I did about 1/4 cup and then did the rest greek yogurt.  I think this is where I went wrong.  My crab cakes did not solidify as I hoped and I had to cook them for about 15-20 mins.  I also used an entire can of the crab meat that I had which was about 12 oz, so that may have thrown things off as well.

Crab meat mixture

Getting ready to be baked...

...dinner!

This was a very tasty dinner, but also an expensive one!!

In class this week we talked about greek yogurt and many of us, including myself, give it 2 big thumbs up!  Just about everyday I make myself a little parfait with fresh fruit.  This week I got strawberries and blueberries from the farmer’s market and I have been combining the fruit and yogurt with about 1/2 packet of Stevia and the Raw for an amazing breakfast/snack.

Strawberries, Blueberries, and Greek Yogurt

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! 🙂

Tonight for dinner, since I am just making something for myself, I am going to have a MorningStar Veggie Burger.  They are really yummy and really easy to prepare for 110 calories each!

MorningStar Veggie Burgers

I put mine on a multi-grain english muffin with 1/2 piece of cheese, guacamole, a little ketchup and a little mustard.

Dinner 🙂

Gotta work early tomorrow morning, so I’m going to try to get ready for bed! Hope everyone has a nice weekend!

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

