//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Anyone know any attorneys?

Hello all!

Don’t worry–I’m not in any legal trouble! My boyfriend is an attorney and is barred/licensed to practice in MD and NC and cannot find a job! If you know any attorneys out there that may need help or even would be willing to welcome a volunteer PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let me know! My email is jlp0328@gmail.com.  Any lead whatsoever would be incredibly helpful!

I have been really busy these last 2 weeks with my new classes and working both jobs that I haven’t had a moment to sit down and write a post!  This week I made some really great dinners and even a dessert: Turkey Cheese Enchiladas, Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, and Turkey Lasagna!

Cheesy Turkey Enchiladas:  This recipe is from the Now Eat This Cookbook and it is very simple! Here is the recipe that I modified a little bit (courtesy of Now Eat This by Rocco DiSpirito):

Recipe

  • 12 ounces ground turkey breast
  • Low carb/low calorie whole wheat tortillas – he calls for 4, I used mini ones and used 7
  • 2/3 cup fat free spicy bean dip (I used HT Traders FF Black Bean Dip)
  • salt and black pepper
  • 12 oz jar of tomatillo salsa (I used regular salsa)
  • 1 cup reduced fat Mexican cheese blend (HT 2% Mexican Cheese)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro (didn’t use)

Some of my ingredients

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Heat a large nonstick saute pan over medium-high heat.  Add the ground turkey and cook, stirring to break it up a little, until it is cooked through, about 4 minutes.
  3. Toast tortillas under a preheated broiler (During this step I put my oven on broil and popped the tortillas in for about 2-3 minutes)
  4. Stir the black bean dip into the turkey.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

    Turkey and Black Bean Dip

  5. Divide the turkey mixture among the tortillas.  Fold the sides of the tortillas in over the filling and roll the tortillas up tightly to encase the filling.  Lay them side-by-side in a 9×13-inch baking dish (I used a cast-iron skillet).
  6. Spoon the salsa over the tortillas, and sprinkle with the cheese.  Bake until the cheese is bubbly and the enchiladas are hot throughout, 10 to 12 minutes.
  7. Sprinkle the cilantro over the enchiladas and serve.

THIS WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!! I added Wholly Guacamole and FF Greek Yogurt to my enchiladas as well.  I’m probably going to do this recipe pretty frequently because it was quick, easy, and delicious!

With Wholly Guacamole and Greek Yogurt

Rainbow outside during dinner 🙂

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies: My next project this week was trying to create an oatmeal raisin cookie using the cannelini beans from the prior failed attempt at a Chocolate Chip Cookie.  In my recipe I subbed the beans for the shortening and it turned out pretty well.  I need to get a food processor because my blender is not cutting it!

  • 1/2 cup cannelini beans (white kidney beans)
  • 1/2 cup sugar substitute of choice
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Blend/process beans with vanilla and egg.
  3. Add sugars to this mixture.
  4. Combine dry ingredients in a separate bowl.
  5. Combine dry ingredients with the sugar/bean mixture. Add raisins.

    Batter

  6. Place on a cookie sheet with non-stick spray and bake for about 8 mins 30 seconds.

Before

After

I thought these were pretty good–not great, as did my brother and boyfriend.  I’m not sure how many calories these will run as I didn’t take the time to tabulate, but I’m guessing around 75 each.  I will keep trying!

Turkey Lasagna (http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=521236):

The recipe is in the link above and I did make some minor modifications.  I only used 2 cups of mozzarella cheese (1 1/2 in the mixture and 1/2 on top) to reduce the amount of calories and I added mushrooms and spinach with the turkey.  I also used whole wheat lasagna noodles.

I have heard complaints about these from other people who have been in my classes, but I would never have been able to tell a difference.  Definitely give them a go before writing them off just because they’re whole wheat!

Spaghetti Sauce, Turkey, Mushrooms, and Spinach on the stove

I wish I had more pictures, but I was trying to throw this together before I had to go back out the door again to work.  Needless to say it was a big success!

Before it was baked...

After 🙂

It was great and fairly easy to assemble.  I prepared it about 4pm and we put it in the oven around 7pm or so (takes an hour to bake) and had some salad with it.

Hope this can help you out with some recipes for the coming weeks! If you have any healthy recipes please send them my way!!

Have a HAPPY FRIDAY tomorrow!!

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

