//
you're reading...
Recipes

EPIC FAIL – 45 Calorie Choc. Chip Cookies!

Hi all!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! I spent this lovely Saturday in Rocky Mount watching my boyfriend coach his little brother’s baseball team.  It was a lot of fun and I got some sun despite liberally applying my sunscreen!

I appreciate all of the feedback I have received from past and present ESMMWL participants.  It means a lot and I’m excited to have you following my blog!  This week has been crazy with all of my new classes, but I am sooo excited for the coming months and working with everyone! 🙂

Thursday night was my big attempt at making the 45 calorie Chocolate Chip Cookies from the Now Eat This! Cookbook by Rocco DiSpirito.  Needless to say they looked nothing like the picture and they didn’t taste all that great.  My boyfriend loved them (he might have been trying to “boost my psyche”) and my lil’ bro didn’t like them at all.  Here is the recipe via the Dr. Oz website: http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/triple-chocolate-chocolate-chip-cookies

I didn’t have all of the ingredients needed (agave nectar, cacao nibs), so I substituted honey for the agave nectar and did without the cacao nibs–do I think these were the cause of the fail?? No.

Ingredients

I don’t have a food processor, so I used the blender and that wasn’t the smartest move I guess.  Eventually I was able to get all of the beans ground up and mixed in the blender.

Bean Mixture

(For some reason it is not letting me rotate the images, so I apologize for them being a bit sideways.)  The mixture actually didn’t taste too bad at this point.  It was kind of bitter from the unsweetened cocoa, but the added sweetener helped.

Batter

Once I had everything mixed together I found that the batter was very liquid-y.  I know I contributed to this when I added a little applesauce for moisture because I couldn’t get the beans to blend.  The consistency was very much like brownie batter.  I’m not sure how the color of the cookies is supposed to be obtained with 1 /3 cup of cocoa being used…

I baked them in my muffin top pan to keep them contained due to the batter being liquid-like.  They baked in about 8 1/2 minutes.

Muffin Top Pan

They were okay...

Overall, the consistency was great.  They were moist and chewy, but definitely bitter due to the cocoa.  I’m not sure if I will do this recipe again.

I have another can of beans left and some raisins leftover from Week 1 of classes, so I think my project for the night/weekend will be to develop a low-calorie oatmeal raisin cookie.  The beans are a great substitute for fat/butter/shortening.  I hope that I can come up with something that looks decent (at the very least) and tastes great! It will probably not be 45 calories, but I hope to be under 75!

I hope everyone has a great weekend!!! 🙂

Jamie

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

