//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Busy Busy Busy!!! But I wanted to write a little something…

Hi all!

I am just starting my next round of classes for Weigh Less this week, so things are little crazy as I’m finalizing last cycle and starting up the new cycle.

To my participants from the first 15 weeks: I will miss you all! You have been such an inspiration to me and I hope to see you again soon!

To my new participants: I can’t wait to to get to know you and hopefully help you to move forward and lead a healthier life!

To my family and friends: Thanks for reading! It means a lot 🙂

I wanted to share with you this evening a few recipes I made over the weekend and early this week, as well as share with you two new resources that I will be using VERY SOON (as in Thursday hopefully)!!

I purchased 2 new cookbooks this weekend:

I currently use many of the Hungry Girl recipes, but I am really anxious to try some of their dinner recipes and crock pot recipes.  As far as Rocco’s book, I will hopefully be tackling his 45 calorie Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe Thursday night! They are made with white kidney beans–very anxious to see how they turn out!

I wanted to share some of the recipes I made recently–nothing complicated–just to give you some different ideas for some quick and easy meals!

The first is a breakfast burrito.  I made this over the weekend for brunch on Saturday and it was incredibly yummy and filling! To make this breakfast burrito I used:

  • 2 eggs and 1 egg white
  • 2 slices of turkey bacon
  • 1/4 cup of black beans
  • 1/2 slice of an 2% American Cheese single
  • 1 tbsp guacamole
  • 1 Flat Out wrap

Cooking the eggs

I started by coating a small frying pan with nonstick spray and added my eggs combined with the black beans.  I then popped my turkey bacon in the microwave for about 2 mins 15 seconds.

Turkey bacon...with an extra slice for my pups!

Once my eggs and turkey bacon were cooked, I added them on the Flat Out wrap with the rest of my ingredients: cheese, guacamole, and hot sauce (Cholula is my FAVORITE!!). This was a great breakfast/brunch/lunch, but probably something better for the weekend when you have a little bit more time to prepare and enjoy.

Cheese, Flat Out, and Wholly Guacamole

Burrito before it was rolled up with HOT SAUCE!

Partially eaten burrito

Last night I made fish tacos for dinner using frozen Mahi Mahi we purchased at Sam’s Club.  I made foil packs with the fish and grilled them.  I put 2 pieces of fish in each foil pack with dry taco seasoning and salsa.  I grilled the packs for about 15 minutes.

Fish Tacos

I prepared brown rice and black beans earlier in the evening to combine with the Mahi Mahi in addition to guacamole, plain greek yogurt (in place of sour cream), and 1/2 of  a Flat Out.  This dish was more-or-less like the Salsa Chicken I prepared last week, but with grilled fish vs. baked chicken breast.  Either way—DELICIOUS and EASY!

Flat Outs, plain greek yogurt, black beans, and guacamole

Tonight I made baked chicken coated with breadcrumbs made from three different cereals paired with penne pasta.  For my breadcrumbs this week I used my original Fiber 1 cereal (1 cup), cornflakes (1/2 cup), and Cap’n Crunch (1/2 cup).  I combined all three in my blender to create the bread crumbs.

Cereal Breadcrumbs

I then combined 1 egg white with about a 1/2 cup of dijon mustard.  I used this mixture to coat the chicken before dipping it in the breadcrumbs.

Coating the chicken

I cooked the chicken on a foil lined cookie sheet at 450 degrees for 25 minutes.  You may not need to cook it this long, but I am a freak about cooking my chicken all the way through.

I prepared my pasta and then began preparing the pasta sauce–which really required very very little preparation.  I merely opened a can of spaghetti sauce and added mushrooms and spinach to eat for some extra vegetables!

The makings of a great & easy sauce

Sauce on the stove

I combined all three elements (pasta, sauce, and chicken) with a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese for a great dinner! I really enjoyed this meal and have plenty of leftovers for tomorrow’s breakfast!

Finished product!

Hope everyone has a great evening and hopefully I will posting again later on in the week with my Choc. Chip Cookie success!!

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Busy Busy Busy!!! But I wanted to write a little something…

  1. The breakfast burrito looks legit.

    Posted by Jefree Star | April 28, 2010, 5:54 pm
  2. I’m glad I finally took a look at your blog. You have some really good info here and I might would like that breakfast burrito. I would like to know how those new books come out too. I have the other 2 books from Hungry Girl and love them. Just a news update, I continue PT since knee surgery on 4/19. It’s slow but I hope to be back in swing of things soon.

    Posted by Chandrea Burch | April 28, 2010, 11:47 pm
    • Hi Chandrea!! Great to hear from and thanks for checkin’ out the blog 🙂

      I’m going to try to do a recipe or two a week from each of the books–tonight I’m doing the 45 calorie Chocolate Chip Cookie–so be on the lookout!!

      I hope you are making a swift recovery–keep me posted and take care 🙂

      Posted by jlp0328 | April 29, 2010, 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

