//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Sugar addict

Yes – I am addicted to sugar.

The weekends, as I’m sure many of you would agree, are the hardest part about losing and maintaining your weight.  I work a 2nd job at my parent’s restaurant and I’m fine–until I see cookies.  And OF COURSE my mother was bored and made a chocolate chip cookie cake (damn her!) which is my favorite thing in the world.  I ate like 3 little slices of it and then 2 more cookies before I left work. However, I did eat a good snack (cucumber slices, plain) and I had a very good dinner (grilled chicken breast with a baked sweet potato).  The fried food, burgers, etc. does not effect me anymore.  It is really just the cookies.  Pizza effects me too, but we don’t serve pizza thankfully.

Today was a great day, though.  Got up and had a 100 calorie, fiber-loaded english muffin w/ about a tbsp of peanut butter before heading to the gym w/ my brother.  I was able to get in about 50 minutes of cardio between the treadmill (20 min), stairmill (20 min), and elliptical (10 min).  I’m still trying to get back to where I was physically before I got sick and I am not quite there yet.

My treadmill workout was a series of intervals:

  • 5 minute warm-up
  • 3 minutes at a moderate pace (for me about 6.2-6.5 mph)
  • 30-45 second sprint (for me about 10.0 – 11.0 mph)
  • Repeat interval about 5 times, sprinting for 1 minute at the very end

For those of you who have never tried the stairmill, here is a look at this machine that many shy away from:

Stairmill

It can be hell, but it is a GREAT and CHALLENGING workout and a good way to add a little somethin’-somethin’ to your exercise routine.  I usually do the interval program on this machine and have recently started adding 4lb dumbbells during my “recovery” phase.  You can do a lot of different things on this machine to challenge your muscles in different ways.  If you want some ideas, feel free to ask as it is too difficult to describe in writing.

After the gym, my bro and I packed up our bikes and headed to Raleigh to try the greenways near NCSU.  One of my ESMMWL participants suggested riding out there and we had a great hour-long ride.  I parked at the Downtown YMCA and we headed down Western Blvd towards Dorthea Dix, turned around at Lake Wheeler and headed back towards NCSU campus.  We rode through campus for a bit and then got back on the greenway at Meredith College and rode towards the Museum of Art.  The route was INCREDIBLY HILLY.  I will probably be very sore tomorrow, but it was a lot of fun!

This week is the FINAL week for my first round of Eat Smart, Move  More, Weigh Less classes and it has been so much fun! I am looking forward to my next bunch of classes that start next Monday (April 26th).

Goodnight!

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

