//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Much better!

Hello all!

Today has been a great day–it was very sunny and warm today, I had lunch with a friend, I got a pretty good workout in AND my sweet boyfriend made me dinner 🙂

My friend and I met at Noodles (http://www.noodles.com/) for lunch where I had a Med Salad with the dressing on the side (should have asked for the cheese on the side, but forgot that cheese came on it!) and grilled chicken added to it for a total of 430 calories.  For a sweet treat, I was BAD and had a chocolate chip cookie which was 360 calories!!! AHHH!!  It’s been a while and I really wanted one–so what the heck!

After my last class, I went to the YMCA and a nice little workout in.  I rode the elliptical for about 15 minutes and jammed out to Lady Gaga (my love!).  My radio in my car is broken so it felt great to listen to some music and it felt soooo good to sweat and get my heart pumping.  I went to a 5:30pm Cardio Sculpt class instead of my usual spinning class, and I was glad I did.  It was a nice change of pace.  In my 60 minute workout I burned a total of 663 calories.  Not as high as I like to get, but pretty good considering this was my first real workout.

I didn’t do a very good job today documenting my food today, until DESSERT.  I got my email from Hungry Girl today and I couldn’t wait to get home to make these Cocoa Loco Krispymallow Treats – http://www.hungry-girl.com/week/weeklydetails.php?isid=2040

I made just one minor tweak to the recipe by substituting 2 tablespoons of mini chocolate chips for the M&M’s and Reese’s Pieces.  I didn’t want to go too crazy with the candy.  I also cut them into 12 pieces vs 15.  All-in-all my version is about 137 calories per piece.  Trying to limit my intake of them will be the hard thing!

Ingredients

Yum!

Finished product!

137 calories

Today I had a really great conversation with one of my participants–she is super sweet and almost brought me to tears with her kind words.  One of the main things that we talked about was being honest with yourself and how it is key to being successful in weight loss.  This was definitely one of the major issues I dealt with when I started making a conscience effort to lose weight.

I have come a LONG way…a very long way.

Freshman Year in College (2002)

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Much better!

  1. Jamie! I’m so proud of you!! (You look great! You’re living a healthy lifestyle! So awesome!) I’m going to have to try some of these recipes–once my crazy 1st trimester pregnancy hormones settle down!!

    Posted by Caroline | April 16, 2010, 3:26 am
  2. Jamie- You HAVE come a long way! Watching the way you live is very motivating. I’m very proud of you. By the way, those cookies look gooooood, and I can’t believe how many cals. are in them!! Very exciting!- Bailey

    Posted by Bailey | April 27, 2010, 2:34 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

