//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Love Mondays!

3:10pm: I was up waaay too late last night prepping my food for the week.  I should have started the process much earlier in the night, but I was on a roll!  Prepping various food items for the week is actually one of the strategies that we discuss in the Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less class.  Seems like an obvious thing, but it is soooo helpful in making meals during the week.

Black Beans

For example, last night I cooked brown rice and black beans, and chopped strawberries.  The collective process probably took about 3o minutes.  I started with the black beans because this was actually several small steps, none of which took too much time.  I bought dry beans and cooked them in my slower cooker to save $, time, and sodium intake.  My friend Nicole actually suggested it to me, so I searched for methods to cook the dry beans and decided on this option: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/10/cooking-dried-beans-in-crockpot.html

I kept a Tupperware container of the black beans in my fridge and froze the rest of them.  Between two bags of dry beans, I ended up with about 9-10 cups of beans.  This should last me a while!

Cooking brown rice all at once is great too! It saves soo much time and clean up.  You make it once and you clean it once.  It’s also easier (in my opinion) to control your portion because you can measure out how much you want to eat and then heat.  The strawberries probably take the most effort, but again its worth doing all of this at the beginning of the week.

Brown Rice

Strawberries 🙂

I was sick all weekend and I am still getting over it! I had some sort of stomach bug and today I am still feeling a little queasy at times and physically weak. I usually spend my break between classes at the Downtown YMCA, but I didn’t feel that I would be physically able to workout at the intensity that I wanted.  Instead, I walked NCSU Campus because it is incredibly gorgeous here today.  I doubt I burned close to the amount of calories that I normally do, but I really wanted to get outside and get moving in some way shape or form.  I walked for an hour and every 7 minutes (random choice) I stopped and did 15 push-ups.  It felt good to be active and it was a nice change of pace.

Right now, I am at my usual corner at the Western Blvd. McDonald’s sipping on my UNsweet tea with Stevia (I do have a ‘splash’ of sweet tea) utilizing their wi-fi and eating my snacks.  I have my usual today–apple, banana, celery sticks, carrot sticks, and hummus.

Post NCSU Walk in the corner @ McDonald's

For my big meal this morning, I had an egg and 2 egg whites, 1 slice of whole grain bread (Food Lion brand), 2 slices of turkey bacon, 1/4 cup of black beans, 1/2 slice of 2% american cheese, 1/2 cup of greek yogurt, and 1/2 cup of strawberries.  YUMMY!!!  Forgot to take a picture, but will make sure to do so tomorrow morning!

7:29pm: Just finished prepping my cornflake chicken and put it in the oven! We’re going to have the chicken with brown rice (that I prepped last night!) and steamed vegetables.  I LOVE FOOD LION’s microwaveable vegetables.  All of my ESMMWL participants know this! I eat a bag almost everyday.  California blend is my favorite (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots)!

I actually used the cornflake chicken recipe on my Harris Teeter brand Cornflakes box last week, but this week wanted to try a different version.  I used this recipe as my basis: http://www.aduckinherpond.com/2010/03/cornflake-chicken/

I used dijon mustard and added about 2 tablespoons of honey to the mustard.  I hope it tastes delicious!

8:39pm: Dinner was great! I think I like the honey dijon mustard better as a coating for the cornflakes.  Working on some paperwork for ESMMWL because our first session of classes for the year is about to end next week.  I’m trying to be as prepared as possible to avoid rushing to get things accomplished.  I’m bummed I couldn’t work out today and I am really hoping that by tomorrow evening I’ll be well enough to work out at my normal pace.

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

