//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Better than planned…

Hello! Getting ready to head to bed and wanted to write a post before I headed to bed.  Today was really a great day—I’m not 100% yet after being sick, but I hope to be able to workout tomorrow.  I fully intended to go to the gym after my last class today, but I’m still feeling really weak 😦 Hoping to be back to normal by the weekend??

Breakfast was full of strawberries today.  For some reason I have been craving oatmeal the last couple of days.  This morning I microwaved 1/4 cup of plain instant oats and mixed in strawberries with 1/2 packet of Stevia in the Raw.  I also had a 1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt with strawberries and another 1/2 packet of Stevia in the Raw.  It was delish and REALLY kept me full well into the afternoon.

For a snack on the way to my last class I had a banana and ate some of my celery and carrots, but I started feeling ill again.  I came home to check on my dogs and intended on heading back out but still felt weak, so I utilized Exercise OnDemand – Channel 557 on Time Warner Cable! Loves it! Haven’t used it in a while and it seems like there are a ton of new workout DVD’s that have been added.  I tried something new tonight–1o lbs Slimmer Lower Body.  I wanted to do something with weights and it was REALLY good.  There are a variety of different workouts in the 10lbs Slimmer–I highly recommend it.  It really killed me, but I still wanted to do a little something else.  John (BF) and I took all three dogs for a walk which was a nice little adventure 🙂

Exercise on Demand!

For dinner I wanted to make something with my black beans and chicken, so I came up with a very healthy Mexican taco/burrito dish that was soooo good!  First I had to cook my black bean a little bit longer because they were a bit al dente.

While that was cooking, I defrosted my chicken and used this recipe to prepare the chicken: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Salsa-Chicken/Detail.aspx

When you are eating Mexican it is very easy to go off your intended healthy course.  For this meal I need portion control would be key.  To create my healthy taco/burrito I used: 1 Flat Out Wrap, 3/4 cup of brown rice, 1/2 cup black beans, 1 100 calorie pack of Wholly Guacamole, 2 tablespoons of greek yogurt (in place of sour cream), picante sauce, onions, and just a pinch of cheese.

This was the final result:

It was really really tasty and incredibly filling.  I will definitely be eating this for lunch tomorrow.

After I watched Biggest Loser I prepared this recipe for tomorrow: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2010/02/slow-cooker-ultimate-breakfast.html

I am really excited about this and I hope it turns out to be as delicious as they make it out to be.  I did, however, make some minor adjustments to the recipe to reduce the calories.  I substituted turkey bacon for regular bacon, substituted whole wheat bread for white bread, reduced the cheese from 2 cups to 1 cup, and added onions.  I’ll let you know how it turn out 🙂

About Jamie

A twenty-something gal trying to make it! On a quest to figure out where I should be and what I am supposed to be doing when I get there...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 470 other followers

Jamie on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

